Guys Would Get a LOT More, if They Expected a Little Less

I sit here writing precariously: the guys who are active writers for this blog were up in arms at my insistence for this post, but I think their curiosity about a girl’s perspective got the best of them, and I managed to sneak in approval for this post. I concede that Surviving Studenthood is  a blog about studenthood (and surviving it – I know, not so creative title! :)) but in my opinion, relationships are a huge part of studenthood, and they are worth discussing. Plus – as I discovered from last week’s meeting – any blog post about guys getting more action, is bound to be a hit.

Of course, we keep this blog rated PG (well, PG14) because although our target audience is university students, youngsters these days are surprisingly technology-savvy. So, when we say ‘action’, we mean it in the most innocent, ‘clammy holding-hands and tentative, frightened kissing’ type of action.

Disclaimer aside, lets get down to business.

The girls and I happened to be at the meeting earlier than the guys (surprise, surprise :)) and we got talking about relationships. As a minor-feminist (or maybe, I just hate shaving), the complaint around the table seemed to be that it isn’t guys that are too much work – its the prep time required for them. My best friend was complaining that shaving her legs was pointless, as her boyfriend has such hairy legs, she doubted he could even tell she had shaved when their legs rubbed together (they were playing footsies, of course – or rather, legsies, under the table – no other reasons legs would be rubbing!)

Am I getting too graphic? I don’t mean to be. 🙂

I guess the point I am trying to make is that women find getting ready for the date just as tedious as the date itself. The shaving of legs, and underarms, and the tweezing, and waxing, and plucking (damn, we have a lot of hair!) is just too much work for the few minutes of action. And spontaneity is basically a bust – when our wonderful dates want to surprise us with a back-seat romp (um – or rather, tickle-fest for our under-13 readers), our first reaction is “no way! no action!” – followed by an exciting reason varying from hair growing in unsightly places to Aunt Flo being in town.

If you are a bit naive, you’re probably still hoping for the perfect man with great hair, and sparkling white teeth and a sexy voice that makes you swoon (sounds like Ken from the Barbie series). After some experience, you know what the great consensus is among women? I want a man who doesn’t care if I’ve shaved my legs.

Ba-Boom! And there it is boys – the great secret to getting more action. Grit your teeth and bare it (pun intended) because we deal with your hairy faces, chests, legs and more, and we don’t complain at all – in fact, we lie and tell you its manly. For all the effort we put into remove our own hair from almost all the places listed above (thankfully, we are chest-hair-free), we’d hope you’d close your eyes to a little leg stubble – or frankly, a our Amazon-w0men legs – and remember we still got soft curves in all the right places. (And yes, for the hundredth time, as I know all my guy-friends will ask, all women (yes, all of them) have mustaches that we have the unfortunate pleasure of trying to remove via wax, cream, or threading). If you are willing to embrace your ogre-Fiona, you’ll discover she is sassier and sexier than the delicate, hairless princess.

I want to say that this is just a dating-problem and that you can expect better once married, but boys, from marriage it is all downhill. I still remember an Everybody Loves Raymond episode from a long time ago, where Raymond says something along the lines of “Debra [my wife] is shaving – I think I’m gonna get some tonight!”. In the rare occasion we shave, you can expect a night of romance, but if you are willing to have your woman au-naturel, you may be pleasantly surprised to discover that you might like living in the wild…. 😉

Women out there, you’ve gotta holler at me if we are right – I mean, maybe the girls at our table have an aversion to picking up a razor every three days (or every other day, for the more … Amazon-ish type!) … are we anomalies? Maybe we are doomed to be hairy and alone… Or can we get an ‘Amen’ from our fellow sistas?

Let us know – leave us a comment! (If you want to comment anonymously, feel free to do so – your email address will not be published!)

Cheers,

The Girls from Surviving Studenthood

p.s. Do you have a question or topic you want us to write about? Send us an email and we will write a specialized post answering your question – just for you!

5 responses

  1. Well, yes and no. I actually have to shave every or every other day in order to keep my legs relatively smooth. My reason for avoiding dating is actually more due to my personality (INTJ) — I have a hard time with smalltalk and will be the first to admit I judge people pretty quickly.

    Then there’s the drama. I can’t stand it. I’ll never understand how guys manage to be just as dramatic as some girls. Just say what you mean and get it over with; covering up the truth only makes it worse.

    Lastly, I feel my time is better spent in a research journal. Sorry, guys! I know I can’t get action from ’em, but they’re actually more interesting sometimes. =\

  2. Hey Ashley,

    Great comment! People have a different reasons for not wanting to date – whether it is due to personal personality (such as INTJ) or a personal preference (to research journals) 🙂

    Drama, on the other hand, is a great, general reason to avoid relationships! One of the most common problems I see in my friends’ relationships are the dramatic ups and downs which make the relationship a LOT of work. My logic has always been the following: a dating relationship is something you choose to acquire – it is not a mandatory relationship (like family relationships). As a result, if a dating relationship is more work than fun, it is not worth it. Why would you choose to add more drama into your life?

    Some people say drama is just a part of relationships, but I don’t agree! Speaking from experience …. My relationship is easy – its relaxed, and fresh, and fun, even after several years of dating through high school and now university. I go to my significant other for support, friendly banter, an alternate perspective and unconditional love. I look at my significant other as a grounding factor – someone to clear the drama rather than cause it. And I don’t think my relationship experience is an anomaly: others can have a similar relationship, especially if both sides come in for a stress-free dating experience. I can’t see why a relationship can’t be a positive thing in one’s life! This is just my perspective – I’m just talking from my own experience. But I have been in drama-filled relationships that have been soul-sucking and self-destructive, and I know they are unhealthy.

    Haha, and Ashley? I like your preference to research journals 🙂 It may not have “action” like a guy does, but you are right – they can be just as interesting.

    Cheers!

    And, if you happen to find someone that makes life a lot easier, dating can be fun … apart from shaving, of course 🙂

  3. […] I sit here writing precariously: the guys who are active writers for this blog were up in arms at my insistence for this post, but I think their curiosity about a girl's perspective got the best of them, and I managed to sneak in approval for this post. I concede that Surviving Studenthood is  a blog about studenthood (and surviving it – I know, not so creative title! ) but in my opinion, relationships are a huge part of studenthood, and they a … Read More […]

  4. I’m kind of a feminist in a way, if you want to call it that. I personally call it being independent and living for myself. There’s not much that I do in order to “satisfy a guy”, as I just find it plain stupid. He should accept me for who I am, and in return, I’ll do the same.
    There is /no way/ I’m ever picking a razor every 3 days to hack at my legs (though granted, I barely have any hair anywhere else other than my head – even after a week, the stubble is barely noticeable and the hairs are soft. Thank you good genes!!) If I shave, it’s because I myself like the feeling of smooth skin, not for anyone else. Like you said, we have to put up with their hairy /everything/. (:
    Besides, my purpose in life isn’t to find a guy to get some action. If I ever get with anyone, it’s because they’re my best friend first and significant other second.
    That’s just my personal opinion. =D

  5. Hey Kiki,

    Love your comment – and we encourage you to check out our blog: the Wonders of Womanhood because I suspect it will be right up your alley.

    We completely understand your comment, and I will get a multi-faceted opinion and come back and give you the other girls’ perspective on your post. You have caught the essence of our post: that we wish to be appreciated for more than cleanly-shaven legs and our cute smile. I will say that, often, girls just want a little action; and no matter how you go about obtaining it, we hope to stand united in the idea that we are great no matter how hairy our legs are, and our sexy moves and great sense of humour apply no matter how smooth are skin is.

    Cheers! Check out the Wonders of Womanhood at http://survivingwomanhood.wordpress.com/.

Leave a Reply

